Philanthropy leaders and student scholars honored by New River CTC Foundation

[BEAVER, W.Va.] Philanthropy awardees and scholarship recipients were celebrated during the New River Community and Technical College Foundation Scholarship Awards Banquet on September 24 at the Kyle and Ann Fort Arts and Sciences Building in Lewisburg.

The Foundation’s philanthropy awards recognize those who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the college. The New River CTC Foundation provides more than $125,000 in scholarships each year thanks to the generosity of community donors.

Professor Emeritus Dr. Lucie Refsland received the Most Outstanding Philanthropist Award. The Carter Family Foundation received the Outstanding Philanthropic Foundation Award. New River CTC Executive Secretary to the President Lori Midkiff received the Outstanding Volunteer Philanthropist Award.

“Philanthropy awards are given each year to those who have given their time and resources to help students at New River Community and Technical College build their future careers,” said New River CTC Foundation Executive Director Michael Green

The Most Outstanding Philanthropist Award, the Foundation’s most prestigious award, is presented to an individual or organization with a proven record of exceptional generosity and outstanding civic and charitable responsibility. Dr. Refsland served as a professor of mathematics at the Greenbrier Community College Center of Bluefield State College and New River Community and Technical College for nearly 30 years. The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and Council for Advancement and Support of Education named Refsland Professor of the Year and, she received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics. She was instrumental in the successful Creating the Future Capital Campaign that enabled the growth of facilities, technology needs and scholarship funds at the college. She also established the Phi Theta Kappa scholarship fund and the Ron and Lucie Refsland scholarship, designated for students pursuing their education degrees.

To qualify for the Outstanding Philanthropic Foundation Award, a foundation must demonstrate outstanding commitment through its financial support and engagement of others in activities that support and advance philanthropy at New River CTC. Since 1980 the Carter Family Foundation has contributed over $40 million to charitable causes in West Virginia, and more than $200,000 to the New River CTC Foundation in support of student scholarships. The Carter Family Foundation Scholarships assist students attending New River CTC’s Raleigh County Campus.

The Outstanding Volunteer Philanthropist Award is given to an individual who demonstrates exceptional leadership skills in coordinating and motivating other donors to follow their philanthropic lead for the benefit of New River CTC, and should serve as a fundraising volunteer, teacher or mentor, while demonstrating exceptional commitment to the advancement of the college. Midkiff was recognized for her contributions to the Foundation, most notably payroll deduction donations to student scholarships and volunteering her time and creativity to assist with a variety of Foundation functions.

The following New River CTC student scholarship recipients were also recognized during the event:

Greenbrier Valley Campus: Jeramy Bailey of Rupert, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation; Nicole Bailey of Rainelle, Herkness Mathematics, Edward D. Knight, Jr., and Horace McGraw; Tiler Bland of Smoot, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation; Kelley Brookman of Alderson, Helen Virginia Chadwick Irons, Dr. Richard and Ann Kline, and David McClung; Jaden Clarkson of Peterstown, Greg Carter Hometown Hero; Lisa Covey of Crawley, Benjamin Fort Teacher; Demetrius Cousins of Lewisburg, Ron and Lucie Refsland Education; Crystal Ervine of Green Bank, Greenbrier Hospitality and Donald Runyon; Bailey Hall of Marlinton, Madlyn E. Fort, Helen Virginia Chadwick Irons, and Elizabeth Runyon; Jack Hanna of Renick, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation; Katherine Helmick of Meadow Grove, Babe and Sidney Hyatt, and McElhenney-Fry-Kirven; Zachary Hicks of Ballard, Mary Louise and Jim Kilcollin, and Marie Leist; Veronica Hoke of Lewisburg, Judy D. Campbell, D. Reginald and Nelle C. Dixon, Helen Virginia Chadwick Irons, and David and Bertha Moshy; Brandon Hoke of Lewisburg, Paul and Helen Wheeler; Stefanie Matthews of Rupert, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation; Vanessa McCoy of Renick, Head Start Scholarship; Stephanie Myers of Lewisburg, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences, Katherine Patterson, and Mary B. Nickell; Andrew Seldomridge of Maxwelton, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation Scholarship; Alicia Tallman of Marlinton, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences, and Marie Leist; Leah Taylor of Ballard, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences, and David and Bertha Moshy; Amanda Tincher of Crawley, George and Helen Aide, Gail C. Collins, and Old Stone Presbyterian Women’s.

Mercer County Campus: Desiree Bell of Kimball, Kyle and Ann Fort Mercer County; Janet Millner of Princeton, New River CTC Foundation.

Nicholas County Campus: Hannah Cool of Summersville, Kyle and Ann Fort Nicholas County; Delena Spencer of Camden on Gauley, New River CTC Foundation; Shannon Ashleigh Holt of Camden on Gauley, New River CTC Foundation.

Raleigh County Campus: Gabriella Davis of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation; Allison England of Mullens, Carter Family Foundation; Rhonda Hodge of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation; Abby Honaker of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation, and Paul and Helen Wheeler; Tricia Miles of Daniels, Carter Family Foundation; Zachary Moul of Meadow Bridge, Carter Family Foundation; Sarah Murdock of Coal City, Carter Family Foundation; Joshua Richmond of Meadow Bridge, Carter Family Foundation; Nellie Rose of Prosperity, Carter Family Foundation; Broc Smith of Cyclone, Paul and Helen Wheeler; Christopher Stewart of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation; Hunter Walters of Brenton, New River CTC Foundation.

For more information about the New River CTC Foundation, visit, email or call304-929-6734.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).