New River CTC’s Washington named KVCC president

[BEAVER, W.Va.] Kalamazoo Valley Community College’s Board of Trustees has named Dr. L. Marshall Washington as the college’s third president. Washington has served as president of New River Community and Technical College since March 2013. His last day at New River CTC will be June 30, 2018.

“I have enjoyed the experiences, opportunities and relationships with various internal and external stakeholders of the College. I have grown professionally and personally because of New River Community and Technical College. I am grateful for the opportunities the College has provided, and I am proud of the work I have done in partnership with a phenomenal team (faculty, staff, administrators, Board of Governors and the New River CTC Foundation) to positively impact students and southern West Virginia,” Washington said.

During New River CTC’s April board meeting, the college’s Board of Governors appointed a committee to select an interim president for the college and to head the presidential search process as KVCC announced their selection in March. Washington looks forward to the new journey in serving students in southeast Michigan starting in July.

Washington previously served as vice president of the Lancaster Campus of Harrisburg Area Community College, Pennsylvania, and as vice president of student services at Kellogg Community College, Michigan. 

           He earned a doctorate in educational studies with a specialization in educational leadership and higher education from University of Nebraska-Lincoln, a master’s degree in education from Winona State University, Minnesota, and a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Ohio Wesleyan University, Delaware, Ohio.

KVCC is located in Texas Township, Michigan. The public, two-year college established in 1966 serves about 10,000 students.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver/Beckley).