New River CTC to celebrate sixteenth commencement on May 11

[BEAVER, W. Va.]  Over 230 students will graduate from New River Community and Technical College this year, and many will participate in the college’s sixteenth commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 11 at 10 a.m. at the Beckley-Raleigh County Convention Center.

New River CTC President Dr. Bonny Ball Copenhaver will welcome the graduates, their families and guests, and Board of Governors Chair Dr. Tom Lemke, faculty member Dr. David Bligh and graduating student Amanda Adkins will address the attendees.

Faculty member Dr. Shirley Davis will provide this year’s commencement address. Davis came to New River CTC in 2005, after retiring from teaching in the Raleigh County public school system. She has held the rank of professor at the college since 2015. Davis has been recognized for excellence in mathematics education by the West Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics (WVCTM) and the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD). She holds master’s degrees from WVU and Marquette University and earned her doctorate from Michigan State University.

“Playing a role in the lives of our graduates and seeing them walk across the stage to receive their diplomas is truly an honor,” Copenhaver said. “We look forward to celebrating their accomplishments with them and their families during the ceremony and hearing about their next steps in the future, whether they go directly to work or continue their education.”                                                       

Academic honors will be presented to 65 students graduating with at least a 3.4 grade point average (GPA).  In addition, 20 students graduating this year are members of the Phi Theta Kappa academic honor society for associate degree students with at least a 3.5 GPA.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).