New River CTC Phi Theta Kappa inductions and members named to the All-West Virginia Academic Team

[BEAVER, W.Va.] Fifteen New River Community and Technical College students were inducted into the Beta Zeta Delta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society in April.

New inductees include: Kimberly Broyles, Beckley; Lyndsey Ryan Bruffy, Webster Springs; Trace Butcher, Crawley; Farrah Compton, Bluefield; Sarah Cooper, Meadow Bridge; Lisa Covey, Crawley; Allison England, Mullens; Crystal Ervine, Green Bank; Katherine Helmick, Meadow Bridge; Tamber Lilly, Beckley; Ethan Moore, Craigsville; Sarah Murdock, Coal City; Caleb Mullens, White Sulphur Springs; Angela Thompson, Princeton; Adam Trzicak, Mount Hope; and Heather Weeks, Princeton.

During the spring 2019 semester, 47 students were members of New River CTC’s PTK chapter. Seven of the student members were selected for the All-West Virginia Academic Honorary Team this spring and were recognized in Charleston. Team members include: Amanda Adkins, Tioga; Trace Butcher, Crawley; Lisa Covey, Crawley; Sara Kisamore, Asbury; Tamber Lilly, Beckley; Caleb Mullens, White Sulphur Springs; and Heather Weeks, Princeton.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members. The organization recognizes and encourages scholarship among students. Membership eligibility is based on having completed at least 12 hours of course work and having an overall, cumulative grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.50.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).