New River CTC Foundation sets fundraising challenge

[BEAVER, W.Va.] Earlier this year, the New River Community and Technical College Foundation launched a 2019 fundraising challenge to enlist 15 Neighborhood Investment Program (NIP) scholarship donors by March 15, 2019.

“To commemorate the college’s 15th anniversary, the foundation and New River CTC President Dr. Bonny Copenhaver issued the fundraiser challenge to assist New River CTC students in achieving their educational goal of obtaining their degree or certificate,” said Foundation Executive Director Michael Green.

Administered by the West Virginia Development Office, NIP is the only state tax credit for charitable giving. NIP donors may use tax credits toward corporate net income or personal income taxes. Donations of at least $500 are eligible for a state tax credit worth 50% of the gift amount to reduce personal income and corporate net income tax as well as qualifying for a federal tax deduction.

“Friday, March 15 is fast approaching, and we are six donations shy of reaching our goal,” Green said. “The foundation is busy processing scholarship applications and fundraising in order to continually increase the number of students who receive these much-needed scholarships, made possible by generous individuals and businesses in the community.”

The New River CTC foundation awards more than $100,000 in scholarship funds each year to assist students seeking a certificate or an associate degree. The scholarship application is available online at until March 15. Applications are reviewed by the scholarship committee and awards will be distributed during the 2019-2020 academic year.

To assist the New River CTC Foundation in reaching its fundraising goal or for additional information, call 304-929-6734 or email

For information on the application process and registering for classes at New River CTC, visit, call 1-866-349-3739 or email

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).