New River CTC Foundation awards Registration Days Scholarship

Registration Day 2019 Scholarship Recipient

[LEWISBURG, W.Va.] Jazmine Marshall of White Sulphur Springs is the winner of a $500 Registration Days Scholarship for returning students at New River Community and Technical College.

Marshall, a practical nursing student, said the scholarship will help her complete her program at the college’s Greenbrier Valley Campus in Lewisburg.

“This scholarship will help me afford transportation and supplies for clinical rotations,” Marshall said.

The New River CTC Foundation hold “Registration Days” scholarship promotions to encourage students to sign up for classes. A second $500 scholarship will be awarded this summer to a new student who registers for the fall 2019 semester.

“Scholarships are a much-needed source of financial assistance to students who are striving to better themselves and find a career,” said New River CTC Foundation Executive Director Michael Green. “We are thankful for our generous donors who make these scholarships possible.”

During the 2019-2020 school year the New River CTC Foundation will fund more than $125,000 in scholarships to students at the college’s four campuses.

Marshall said she has been pleased with her college experience so far.

“New River offers classes at affordable rates and flexible times that make it easier for people to achieve their academic goals. I have had a positive experience, and New River has opened up many opportunities for me to transfer and further my education,” she added. “The nursing program especially is a rewarding experience that allows for personal and intellectual growth throughout the program.”

Registration for classes starting in August is underway. For information about registering for classes or scholarship opportunities offered at New River CTC, visit, email or call 866-349-3739.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).