New River CTC Foundation announces 2018-19 Scholarship recipients

[BEAVER, W.Va.] The New River Community and Technical College Foundation is pleased to announce 2018-2019 scholarship recipients.

“With more than $100,000 in scholarships awarded, this is the largest group of scholars in the College’s 15-year history,” said New River CTC Foundation Executive Director Michael Green. “The Foundation is proud of all of the students selected. They are dedicated to achieving success, pursuing careers, and contributing to their local communities.”

This year’s scholars will be honored at a banquet at 6 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 27 at the Kyle and Ann Fort Arts and Sciences Building in Lewisburg. The following students will be recognized:

Greenbrier Valley Campus: Traci Alderman of Marlinton, John L. Stewart Scholarship; Kaeley Asbury of Lewisburg, Marie Leist Foundation Scholarship; Jeramy Bailey of Rupert, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation Scholarship; Jacob Belcher of Peterstown, Paul and Helen Wheeler Scholarship; Kirstin Belcher of Rainelle, Benjamin Fort Teacher Scholarship; Tiler Bland of Smoot, McElhenney-Fry-Kirven Scholarship; Tori Bowman of Caldwell, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences, Dr. Richard and Ann Kline, and Horace McGraw Scholarships; Casara Buckland of Union, Judy D. Campbell, Mary and Jim Kilcollin, Dr. Richard and Ann Kline, and Edward D. Knight, Jr. Scholarships; Lisa Covey of Crawley, Education and Jeanne and Lawson Hamilton Scholarships; Sarah Crookshanks of White Sulphur Springs, Mary B. Nickell Foundation Scholarship; Laken Cyrus of Lewisburg, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation Scholarship; Kenneth Fitzwater of Union, Veronica Blanton and David B. McClung Scholarships; Veronica Hoke of Lewisburg, David and Bertha Moshy and Babe and Sidney Louis Hyatt Scholarships; Taylor Holliday of Smoot, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation Scholarship; J. Kaye Hunter of Lewisburg, Mary B. Nickell Foundation and Old Stone Presbyterian Women’s Scholarships; M. Sabrina Longanacre of Caldwell, Herkness Mathematics and Donald Runyon Scholarships; Stefanie Matthews of Rupert, Robert Patterson and Hollowell Dawkins Foundation Scholarships; Caleb Mullens of White Sulphur Springs, Gail C. Collins Scholarship; Stephanie Myers of Lewisburg, Joan C. Browning and Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences Scholarships; Cheyenne Patton of Sinks Grove, Mary and Jim Kilcollin and David and Bertha Moshy Scholarships; Connor Pyles of Hillsboro, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences Scholarship; Andrew Seldomridge of Maxwelton, Hollowell Dawkins Foundation Scholarship; Alicia Tallman of Marlinton, Madlyn E. Fort Health Sciences and Marie Leist Foundation Scholarships; Cassi VanNatter of Meadow Bridge, Helen Virginia Chadwick Irons, Edward D. Knight, Jr., and Katherine Patterson Scholarships; Tori Yates of Lewisburg, Reginald and Nelle Dixon and Greenbrier Hospitality Scholarships.

Mercer County Campus: Desiree Bell of Kimball, Kyle and Ann Fort Scholarship.

Nicholas County Campus: Amanda Adkins of Tioga, J. Leroy Spring Scholarship; Jared Parissi of Kanvas, Neighborhood Investment Program Scholarship; Frankie Simmons of Summersville, Wendy’s Adoption and Kyle and Ann Fort Scholarships.

Raleigh County Campus: Kristina Bishop of Scarbro, Carter Family Foundation Scholarship; Kayla Blankenship of Scarbro, J. Leroy Spring Scholarship; Dylan Brehm of Mullens, Paul and Helen Wheeler Scholarship; Kimberly Broyles of Beckley, Paul and Helen Wheeler Scholarship; Kimberly Farmer of Beckley, Neighborhood Investment Program Scholarship; Michele Farruggia of Sophia, Carolyn Browning Social Service Scholarship; Jaela Law of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation Scholarships; Tamber Lilly of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation Scholarship; Lauren McGrath of Beckley, Carter Family Foundation Scholarship; Brianna Scarbro of Glen Daniel, Neighborhood Investment Program Scholarship; Broc Smith of Cyclone, Paul and Helen Wheeler Scholarship; Christopher Stewart of Beckley, New River CTC Foundation-Registration Days Scholarship; Katie Stover of Shady Spring, J. Leroy Spring Scholarship; Samuel Watkins, of Cool Ridge, Neighborhood Investment Program Scholarship.

For more information about New River Community and Technical College Foundation, visit, email or call 304-929-6734.


For information on admissions and programs offered at New River CTC, visit, email or call 866-349-3739.


New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).