New River CTC and Bluefield State College sign guaranteed admission agreement

Bluefield State President Dr. Krotseng and New River CTC President Dr. Washington shake hands after the signing.

[BEAVER, W.Va.] President L. Marshall Washington from New River Community and Technical College and President Marsha V. Krotseng from Bluefield State College signed an agreement today making it easier for students who earn an associate degree to earn their bachelor’s degree.

Under the new agreement, New River CTC students who maintain at least a 2.0 grade point average (GPA) are guaranteed admission to Bluefield State. Students transferring must meet the same prerequisites, GPA and other admission criteria when applying to Bluefield State programs. The two institutions will work collaboratively to admit students and facilitate the process of admissions.

The new agreement becomes effective immediately.

            “We want to encourage our graduates to continue their education and to make the process as simple as possible for them,” New River CTC President Dr. Washington said. “This agreement provides students with another opportunity to earn a bachelor’s degree close to where they live and work.”

Bluefield State President Dr. Krotseng and New River CTC President Dr. Washington sign the guaranteed admission agreement.

BSC President Dr. Krotseng observes, “The importance of collaborating with other institutions is a very effective way to move southern West Virginia forward. The need for a well-educated workforce is crucial to the revitalization of our region. This agreement increases access to higher education by offering a seamless pathway into multiple four-year degree programs. I look forward to seeing the students and local economies benefit from this opportunity.”

The two schools have a history of cooperation by serving students throughout southern West Virginia.  New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver/Beckley). Bluefield State College offers classes at their main campus in Bluefield, the Erma Byrd Higher Education Center in Beaver, as well as online while extending their presence into VA, NC, KY, MD, OH, TN, and PA with the addition of a number of Metro–rate counties.

Last updated on: Feb. 13, 2018