New agreement between New River CTC and Fairmont State helps students complete nursing degrees

[BEAVER, W.Va.] New River Community and Technical College has signed an agreement with Fairmont State University making the process easier for students to further their education and advance their nursing careers.

New River CTC offers a Certificate of Applied Science in Practical Nursing and FSU offers an Associate of Science in Nursing. The new agreement allows New River CTC PN graduates to transfer to FSU’s Associate of Science in Nursing program to continue their education and for FSU ASN students who may not be able to complete the program to transfer to New River CTC’s PN program eliminating the repetition and unnecessary duplication of courses.

The agreement becomes effective for the 2018-19 academic year.

Students interested in transferring must provide transcript documentation verifying the completion of courses with a minimum grade of a “C”.

New River CTC’s PN program is offered at the college’s campuses in Lewisburg, Summersville and Beaver and can be completed in 11 months. FSU offers three ASN options: a traditional program for those who can attend in-seat classes, an on-line evening program with clinicals two Fridays a month and a weekend program.

“We are so pleased to collaborate with Fairmont State University’s Associate Degree Nursing Programs to offer graduates of our LPN program this exciting opportunity. This agreement is an example of how our practical nursing program prepares students for career pathways allowing credits to transfer into more advanced nursing programs,” explained Director of Practical Nursing Joanna Perry.

For more information on New River CTC’s nursing program, visit or contact Perry at or 304-883-2429 or Administrative Secretary Tina Bryant at 304-883-2444.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver/Beckley).