Diesel technology programs offered at New River CTC for fall 2018

[GHENT, W.Va.] Starting with the fall 2018 semester, New River Community and Technical College is offering two diesel technology programs at the Advanced Technology Center in Ghent.

“Nationally, we’re seeing attention brought to the need for trade workers,” explained New River CTC Dean for Technical and Workforce Programs Dr. Jerry Wallace. “The Advanced Technology Center houses programs that prepare students for work in our area, and we’re excited to be able to expand our offerings to help both employers needing trained workers and those in our communities looking for jobs.”

The Certificate of Applied Science in Diesel Service Technology is a 30 credit hour program, giving students knowledge and hands-on experience in preventative maintenance, suspension and brakes as well as diesel and advanced engine classes. The Associate of Science in Diesel Service Technology is a 60 credit hour program that builds on the certificate program and also covers electric, advanced electric, drive train, hydraulics, HVAC and diagnostic scanner training. The associate degree program prepares students for the ASE certification exam, and both programs meet the current National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation accreditation standards.

Instructional Specialist Jonathan Hartwell will lead the new diesel programs. Hartwell’s education in diesel technology began in the U.S. Marine Corps. He is a graduate of Nashville Auto-Diesel College and holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration. Hartwell brings over 16 years of education and experience to the program.

For more information on the diesel programs, contact Hartwell at 304-929-1045 or jhartwell@newriver.edu. For information admissions and other programs at New River CTC, visit www.newriver.edu, call 1-866-349-3739 or email admissions@newriver.edu.

New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeastern West Virginia from the Greenbrier Valley Campus (Lewisburg), Mercer County Campus (Princeton), Nicholas County Campus (Summersville) and Raleigh County Campus (Beaver).